Past Business & Humanitarian Award Recipients

Business of the Year
1st Security Bank
Alexander & Ventura
Bailey Coy Books
Beyond the Closet Bookstore
Broadway Grill
City People's
Countryside Floral
Cupcake Royale
Emerald City Inn
Encore, Elite & Elite II
Etherea Salon.Spa
Flying Fish
Girlie Press
Herban Feast
Holland America Line
La Fleur
MGS Consulting
Safeco Insurance
Starline Luxury Coaches
Team Photogenic
Timberline Spirits
Travel Solutions
Tutta Bella Neapolitan Pizzeria
Tuxedos & Tennis Shoes
Urban Press
Wave Link Music
Your Man Friday

Business Leader of the Year
Linda Derschang, Derschang Group
Jennifer Divine, Miller Nash LLP
Lorelle Farber, Pacific Capital Resource Group
Joseph Irons, Irons Brothers Construction
Neil McDevitt, RBC Wealth Management
Barbara "b.g." Nabors-Glass
Roger Nyhus, Nyhus Communications
Mona Smith, Attorney at Law
Stephen Sprenger, H&R Block

Business Women of the Year
Jeanne Barwick
Jan Bristow
Harley Broe
Claire Cavanah
Martha Davis
Elaine DuCharme
Nancy Hawkins
Jody Laine
Leslie Lippi
Tamara Murphy
Gay Northrup
Gerri Rasmussen
Cheryl Salvati
Lisa Schuchman
Gwynne Skinner
Rachel Venning
Judy Werle

Business Men of the Year
Scott Aitken
Paul Bauer
Roy Chase
Steve Crandall
Eric DuBois
Roy Hamrick
Jim Liebertz
Lonnie Lusardo
Scott Rodriguez
Bob Rohan
Steve Rovig
Ramiro Rubio
Michael Schemm
Geoff Shelton
Jeff Swickard




New Business of the Year
Aztlan Home Decor
Bulk FR8
GA DeAndrea, MD
Emma Jeans Consignments & Antiques
Fuel Coffee
David Owen Hastings Design + Fine Art
Guppy's West Seattle Bar and Grill
Lobby Bar
Poco Wine Room
Repair Revolution
Keith Stafford, Farmers Insurance
Urban Animal

Corporate Citizen of the Year
Kevin Baldwin, PwC
Glenn Johnson, Alaska Airlines
Jonathan "Mac" Macaranas, Washington Mutual
Linda Marzano, Pacific Medical Centers
Jennifer Moran, Carter Subaru & Carter Volkswagen
Karen Olson, the Space Needle
John Payes, Microsoft
Eric Pettigrew, Regence BlueShield of Washington
Joy Wood, Wells Fargo

President's Award
Ray Araujo
Scott Aitken
Linda Bakken
Tim Bradbury
Estelle Bunker
Grethe Cammermeyer
Louise Chernin
Liane Christianson
Gary Collins
David Owen Hastings
Mike Jaworski
Michael Keller
Matt Ketcham
Mary Klein
Lambert House
Neil McDevitt
Karin Nilsson
Alex Pava
Rick Peterson
George Pieper
Pride Foundation
Seattle Men's Chorus
Rita Smith
Gary Tucker
Gerry Usibelli
Kirsten Weiss
Larry Woelich

Special Recognition
ACLU of Washington
Allison Beezer and the Pride Shareholder Activism Committee
Laura Blankenship
Charles Brydon
Ana Mari Cauce, UW
Louise Chernin
Cheryl Chow
Dennis Coleman
Ann Coppel, A Journey of Spirit
Drew Emery, Inlaws and Outlaws
Equal Rights Washington
Force 10 Hoops L.L.C.
Gwen Hall
Larry Jenkins and Alan Tonning
Warren King
King County Executive Ron Sims
Jody Laine and Shad Reinstein
Lambda Legal
Northwest Women's Law Center
Rep Joe McDermott
Rep Jim Moeller
Rep Ed Murray
Vic Opperman
Heather Purser
Perkins Coie
Scott Rodriquez
Charlene Strong
Three Big Dykes/Mom's Apple Pie
University of Washington Q Center
Rep Dave Upthegrove
Major Margaret Witt

Nonprofit of the Year
Bailey Boushay House
Camp Ten Trees
Entre Hermanos
Families Like Ours
Gay City Health Project
Gay Community Social Services (GCSS)
Hearing, Speech & Deafness Center
Ingersoll Gender Center
Legal Voice
Lesbian Resource Center
Lifelong AIDS Alliance
Mary's Place
NW Network of BTLG Survivors of Abuse
Parents & Friends of Lesbians & Gays
People of Color Against AIDS Network
Pride Foundation
Residence XII
Seattle Counseling Service
Seattle Men's Chorus
Seattle Young People's Project
Seattle Treatment Education Project
Sisters of Perpetual Indulgence
Tacky Tourists Club
Three Dollar Bill Cinema

Community Service & Leadership
AIDS Housing of Washington
Cal Anderson
Thatcher Bailey
Debbie Bird
Jan Bianchi
Laura Blankenship
Detective Kim Bogucki
Marsha Botzer
Tim Bradbury
Heather Carter
Shelly Cohen
Tom Davies (posthumously)
Jim Detwiler
Derivative Duo: Barb Glenn & Susan Nivert
Bill Dubay
Bob Eichler
Ellen Ferguson
Joyful Freeman
Audrey Haberman
Roy Hamrick
Dian Hassel
Anne Levinson
Ted Lord
Anne Melle
Trish Millines Dziko
Don Moreland
Rep Ed Murray
Tamara Murphy & Linda Di Lello Morton
Arleen Nelson
Tina Podlodowski
Beth Reis
David Serkin-Poole
Arlis Stewart
Rev. David Strong
Jamie Pedersen
Rick Peterson
Rita Smith
Gerri Usibelli
Janice Van Cleve
John Wong





In 1981, nine gay business owners, including attorneys, insurance agents, and bar, and bathhouse owners, got together and recognized that in order to support each other, they needed to identify other gay-owned businesses. Hence, they founded GSBA. 

With time, GSBA evolved from a networking group to a chamber of business leaders using their economic position to address the rampant discrimination and harassment faced by the LGBTQ+ community, most especially in public agencies, such as the fire and police departments. 

Having met its initial charge, GSBA focused on strengthening the LGBTQ+ community economically and is now a strong, vibrant, and diverse association of influential business leaders. Today, GSBA is the largest and most active LGBTQ+ business chamber in North America, serving 1,400 members across Washington State.

Recognizing the lack of support for LGBTQ+ students, GSBA members founded the first LGBTQ+ Scholarship Fund in the United States, to provide support, encouragement, and financial resources to the next generation of leaders. To date, the fund has awarded over $5 million in educational support to hundreds of outstanding students who, even today, may receive no traditional means of support. 

The advocacy side of the organization continues to grow, with GSBA actively engaged in public policy work and sponsoring the LGBTQ+ community’s annual candidate forum. GSBA is proud of the leading role it had in advocating for same-sex domestic partnerships laws, which led to the historic passage of Washington State’s marriage equality law.

With over 120 events, workshops, and opportunities to engage per year, GSBA provides a wide variety of business development, networking, and social opportunities, including its three gala dinners: EQUALUX, a fundraising dinner and auction for the GSBA Scholarship Fund; the Business and Humanitarian Awards Dinner, which celebrates excellence and the philanthropy of our business leaders; and the Scholars Dinner, at which GSBA presents its scholarships.

GSBA is a unique business chamber, in that in addition to promoting business, it advocates for equality and diversity in the workforce, continuing its commitment to combine business development, leadership and social action to expand economic opportunities for the LGBTQ+ community and those who support equality for all.

[AdLink] [AdLink] [AdLink]